Skip top navigation Skip to content

Print   Email  Share

Meeting of February 15, 2012 - Unlawful Discrimination Against Pregnant Workers and Workers with Caregiving Responsibilities

Public Comments

The Commission will hold open the February 15 Commission meeting record for 15 days, and invites audience members, as well as other members of the public, to submit written comments on any issues or matters discussed at the meeting. Public comments may be mailed to Commission Meeting, EEOC Executive Officer, 131 M Street, N.E., Washington, D.C. 20507, or emailed to All comments received will be made available to members of the Commission and to Commission staff working on the matters discussed at the meeting. Comments will also be placed in the EEOC library for public review.

Agenda Open Session

  1. Announcement of Notation Votes, and
  2. Unlawful Discrimination Against Pregnant Workers and Workers with Caregiving Responsibilities - Invited Panelist

Panel 1: Understanding Pregnancy and Caregiver Discrimination in Today’s Workplace

  • Dr. Stephen Benard, Professor of Sociology, Indiana University (via VTC from our Indianapolis District Office)
  • Sharon Terman, Senior Staff Attorney, Gender Equity Program, The Legal Aid Society Employment Law Center
  • Maryann Parker, Associate General Counsel, Service Employees International Union
  • Lynn Friss Feinberg, Senior Strategic Policy Advisor, AARP Public Policy Institute
  • Deane Ilukowicz, Vice President for Human Resources, Hypertherm

Panel 2: Statutory Framework and Enforcement Efforts

EEOC’s General Counsel P. David Lopez will provide introductory remarks.

  • Melvina Ford, Senior Policy Advisor in the Office of the Administrator, Wage and Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor
  • Emily Martin, Vice President and General Counsel, National Women’s Law Center

Panel 3: The Way Forward: Implications for the Future

  • Judy Lichtman, National Partnership for Women and Families
  • Joan Williams, Distinguished Professor of Law, UC Hastings Foundation Chair, Director of the Center for WorkLife Law