Skip top navigation Skip to content

Print   Email  Share


Next Commission Meeting Wednesday, July 18

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) will hold a meeting on Wednesday, July 18, at 9:30 a.m. (Eastern Time), at agency headquarters, 131 M Street, N.E. In accordance with the Sunshine Act, the open session of the meeting will be open to public observation of the Commission’s deliberations and voting. For scheduling purposes, the meeting is anticipated to conclude at 4:30 pm.

In February, the Commission approved a Strategic Plan for Fiscal Years 2012-2016. The first performance measure of the Strategic Plan requires the Commission to approve a Strategic Enforcement Plan (SEP), which it is now developing. In June, the Commission solicited written public input into the development of the SEP. On July 18, the Commission will hear publically from five roundtables of invited guests on what the agency’s national enforcement priorities should be for the next three years in order to have the greatest impact on combating discrimination in the workplace. The participants will also address recommendations for improving enforcement, outreach and prevention, and customer service.

The Commission is scheduled to hear from the following confirmed panelists and organizations:

Former EEOC Leadership Roundtable

  • Former Chair Gilbert Casellas, OMNITRU
  • Former Vice Chair Leslie Silverman, Proskauer Rose LLP

Private and State and Local Government Sectors Roundtable I

  • Sahar Aziz, Texas Wesleyan School of Law
  • David Burton, National Small Business Association
  • Claudia Center, Employment Law Center
  • Brian East, Consortium of Citizens with Disabilities
  • Fatima Goss Graves, Employment Task Force, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
  • Ray McClain, Employment Task Force, The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
  • Joshua Stehlik, National Immigration Law Center
  • Bobbie Wanzo, Illinois Department of Human Rights

Private and State and Local Sectors Government Roundtable II

  • Marc Bendick, Bendick and Egan Economic Consultants, Inc
  • Deborah Eisenberg, University of Maryland School of Law
  • Daniel Kohrman, National Employment Lawyers Association
  • Joyce Margulies, Margulies Employment Law Consulting
  • Nancy Modesitt, University of Baltimore School of Law
  • Joseph Sellers, Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC
  • Gary Siniscalco, Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP

Federal Sector Roundtable

  • Banjo Akinyemi, Federal Disability Workforce Consortium
  • Sharon Eller, U.S. Department of the Interior
  • Ernest Hadley, Federal Employment Law Training Group
  • Leonard Hirsch, Federal GLOBE
  • Joseph Leonard, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • National Coalition for Equity in Public Service
  • Patricia Randle, American Federation of Government Employees, AFL-CIO
  • Jason Zuckerman, U.S. Office of Special Counsel

EEOC Employees Roundtable

  • William Cash, Little Rock Area Office
  • Reuben Daniels, Charlotte District Office
  • Elizabeth Grossman, New York District Office
  • John Hendrickson, Chicago District Office
  • James Lee, SES Advisory Council
  • Gabrielle Martin, National Council of EEOC Locals
  • Kathleen Mulligan, Administrative Judges Association

Seating is limited, and it is suggested that visitors arrive 30 minutes before the meeting in order to be processed through security and escorted to the meeting room.

The Commission agenda is subject to revision. Additional information about the hearing, when available, will be posted at

The EEOC enforces federal laws prohibiting employment discrimination. Further information about the EEOC is available on its web site at