The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE              CONTACT:   Ellen Vargyas,
November 12, 1997                             EEOC Legal Counsel
                                              (202) 663-4900
                                              TTY: (202) 663-4494

                                              Jim Haney, NAAG
                                              (608) 266-1221



WASHINGTON -- The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) and the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) announced today that they have entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to enhance federal-state communication, cooperation, and coordination in the enforcement of the civil rights laws prohibiting discrimination in employment.

According to EEOC Chairman Gilbert F. Casellas, "This agreement recognizes the importance of the partnership between the federal and state governments in the enforcement of the civil rights laws. We look forward to working closely with the state Attorneys General in this important endeavor."

"State Attorneys General are committed to working with the EEOC to ensure that our civil rights laws are vigorously enforced," Wisconsin Attorney General and NAAG President James E. Doyle said. "We will continue to fight to make sure that employment discrimination is not tolerated."

Under the terms of the MOU, EEOC and the state Attorneys General will implement designated mechanisms for communication and coordination on developing issues and cases. EEOC and the Attorneys General have also agreed to develop joint enforcement initiatives.

As part of the MOU, representatives of state Attorneys General and the EEOC will keep each other updated on issues of joint concern, and meet annually to, as appropriate: discuss national, regional, state employment discrimination issues; share investigative techniques; identify and initiate joint litigation and policy enforcement efforts; and bring important judicial decisions and emerging issues to the attention of each other, among other purposes.

EEOC enforces Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, and national origin; the Age Discrimination in Employment Act; the Equal Pay Act; the Americans with Disabilities Act, which prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities in the private sector and state and local governments; the Rehabilitation Act's prohibitions against disability discrimination in the federal government; and sections of the Civil Rights Act of 1991.

NAAG is the membership organization of the Attorneys General of the 50 states, as well as the chief legal officers of the District of Columbia and the commonwealth and territories of the United States. NAAG assists Attorneys General in fulfilling the responsibilities of their office and assists in the delivery of high-quality legal services to the states and territories.

This page was last modified on November 14, 1997.

Return to Home Page