The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                        CONTACT:  Charles Robbins (202) 663-4950
Wednesday, March 16, 2005                               David Grinberg  (202) 663-4921
                           ******* MEDIA ADVISORY *******



WHO: U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
EEOC Chair Cari M. Dominguez, joined by Mary Westbrook, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Pearson Government Solutions.
WHAT: Press Conference to launch the National Contact Center (NCC) 18-month pilot. The NCC will respond to most of the one million annual public inquiries to the EEOC through two toll-free numbers and by electronic mail. The NCC will provide immediate access to customer service representatives in more than 100 languages between 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. Eastern Time. An automated system with answers to frequently asked questions will be accessible on a 24-hour basis.
WHEN: 9:30 a.m. Central Time, Monday, March 21. Reporters unable to attend in person will be able to participate via teleconference. Please RSVP to David Grinberg at (202) 663- 4921 or for the teleconference phone number and pass code
WHERE: Pearson Government Solutions, 3833 Greenway Drive, Lawrence, Kansas

Initially, the NCC will operate on an 18-month pilot basis during which time the EEOC will evaluate its benefits and effectiveness. At the conclusion of the pilot, a comprehensive independent analysis will be conducted to determine if the NCC should be continued. On Sept. 21, 2004, the EEOC awarded a contract to operate the NCC to Pearson Government Solutions, which has more than 20 years of experience operating contact centers for the federal government, as well as state, local, and international governments. With a corporate office headquartered in Arlington, Va., the company serves 27 government programs in five major contact centers in the United States.

The EEOC is the federal government agency that enforces that nation's anti-discrimination laws in the workplace, including Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, the Equal Pay Act, the Rehabilitation Act, and sections of the Civil Rights of 1991. Further information about the EEOC is available on its web site at For a complete list of the EEOC's 51 field office across the country, click on the following web link:

This page was last modified on March 16, 2005.

Home Return to Home Page