The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission



WASHINGTON – Cari M. Dominguez, Chair of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), will present the agency's first-ever "Freedom to Compete Award" recognizing employers, organizations and individuals for initiatives that promote fair and open competition in the workplace. Six awards will be presented during a ceremony on Tuesday, June 14, 2005, 10 a.m. to 12 noon, EEOC Headquarters, 1801 L Street, N.W., downtown Washington, D.C.

The awards presentation is part of Chair Dominguez' Freedom to Compete Initiative. Launched in 2002, the initiative is a national outreach, education and coalition-building campaign to provide free and unfettered access to employment opportunities for all individuals. The central theme of the initiative is that every individual deserves the opportunity to compete and advance as far as his/her talent and ability allows without regard to discriminatory barriers based on race, color, gender, religion, national origin, age or disability. As part of the Freedom to Compete campaign, the EEOC has been forging strategic alliances and partnerships with a cross-section of stakeholders to influence positive change in the workplace.

"The EEOC's Freedom to Compete Award showcases, recognizes, and rewards specific practices that produce results and reflect abiding commitment to access and inclusion in the workplace," said Chair Dominguez. "This distinguished award will honor organizational leaders whose extraordinary efforts embody a key tenet of the Commission's goals: to ensure that all individuals have the freedom to compete and advance in the workplace on a level playing field."

The six award recipients cover a range of industries and professions including high-tech, manufacturing, insurance, retail/distribution, law, and public service.

The EEOC is the federal government agency responsible for enforcing the nation's anti-discrimination laws in the workplace. Further information the EEOC, is available online at

This page was last modified on June 10, 2005.

Home Return to Home Page