The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE           CONTACT:        Claire E. Gonzales
Fri., Sept. 30, 1994                            Reginald A. Welch
                                                (202) 663-4900
                                                (202) 663-4494 (TDD)



WASHINGTON -- The U.S. Senate late yesterday unanimously confirmed the nominations of Gilbert F. Casellas, Paul M. Igasaki, and Paul Steven Miller to serve as Commissioners of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission. The new members are expected to be formally appointed by President Clinton today.

Casellas, a Philadelphia attorney who has been serving as general counsel of the U.S. Air Force, will be the Chairman of the Commission. He has been active in Hispanic Bar and community activities.

Igasaki will be designated Vice-Chairman. He is executive director of the Asian Law Caucus in San Francisco and previously was the Washington representative of the Japanese-American Citizens' League.

Miller will serve as Commissioner. He previously worked as deputy director of the U.S. Office of Consumer Affairs and as White House liaison to the disabled community.

These members, all Democrats, bring the Commission to its full complement of five Commissioners. The other sitting commissioners are Republican appointees R. Gaull Silberman, the previous Vice-Chairman, and Joyce E. Tucker.

EEOC enforces Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex or national origin; the Age Discrimination in Employment Act; the Equal Pay Act of 1963; sections of the Civil Rights Act of 1991; Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act, which prohibits employment discrimination against people with disabilities in the private sector and state and local governments; and prohibitions against discrimination affecting individuals with disabilities in the federal government.

This page was last modified on January 15, 1997.

Return to Home Page