U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission


Agency - Executive agencies as defined in Section 102 of Title 5, U.S. Code (including those with employees and applicants for employment who are paid from nonappropriated funds), the United States Postal Service, the Postal Rate Commission, and those units of the legislative and judicial branches of the Federal government having positions in the competitive service.

Annual Reports - Reports required to be submitted to EEOC on agencies affirmative employment program accomplishments pursuant to EEOC Management Directives 715.

Blue Collar Occupational Category - Occupations that OPM defines as comprising the trades, crafts, and manual labor (unskilled, semi-skilled, or skilled), including foremen and supervisory positions entailing trade, craft, or laboring experience and knowledge as the paramount requirement.

Central Personnel Data File (CPDF) - This is a computer file created and maintained by the OPM. The file is based on personnel action information submitted directly to the OPM by federal agency appointing offices, and is updated monthly. The following agencies do not submit data to the CPDF: the Tennessee Valley Authority, United States Postal Service, Army and Air Force Exchange Service, Central Intelligence Agency, Defense Intelligence Agency, National Imagery and Mapping Agency, and the National Security Agency.

Civilian Labor Force (CLF) - Data derived from the decennial census reflecting persons, 16 years of age or older who were employed or seeking employment, excluding those in the Armed Services. CLF data used in this report is based on the 2000 Census.

Craft Workers (skilled) - See "Occupational Categories." Data from 2000 Census Special EEO File - Data derived from the 2000 decennial census (www.census.gov/eeo2000/).

Disability - A physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.

Laborers (unskilled) - See "Occupational Categories."

Lump Sum Payment - A single payment made in a settlement which does not identify the portion of the amount paid for backpay, compensatory damages, attorney fees, etc.

Major Occupations - The most populous occupations in the Professional and the Administrative categories in an agency.

Merit Decision - A decision determining whether or not discrimination occurred.

MD-110 - EEO Management Directive 110 provides policies, procedures and guidance relating to the processing of employment discrimination complaints governed by the Commission's regulations in 29 CFR Part 1614.

MD-715 - A document describing program responsibilities and reporting requirements relating to agencies' EEO programs.

Occupational Categories - The occupational categories for the EEO-9 are as follows:

Officials and Managers - Occupations requiring administrative and managerial personnel who set broad policies, exercise overall responsibility for execution of these policies, and direct individual departments or special phases of a firm's operations.

Professionals - Occupations requiring either college graduation or experience of such kind and amount as to provide a comparable background.

Technicians - Occupations requiring a combination of basic scientific knowledge and manual skill which can be obtained through 2 years of post high school education, such as is offered in many technical institutes and junior colleges, or through equivalent on-the-job training.

Sales Workers - Occupations engaging wholly or primarily in direct selling.

Office and clerical - Includes all clerical-type work regard-less of level of difficulty, where the activities are predominantly non-manual though some manual work not directly involved with altering or transporting the products is included.

Craft Workers (skilled) - Manual workers of relatively high skill level having a thorough and comprehensive knowledge of the processes involved in their work. Exercise considerable independent judgment and usually receive an extensive period of training.

Operatives (semiskilled) - Workers who operate machine or processing equipment or perform other factory-type duties of intermediate skill level which can be mastered in a few weeks and require only limited training.

Laborers (unskilled) - Workers in manual occupations which generally require no special training who perform elementary duties that may be learned in a few days and require the application of little or no independent judgment.

Service workers - Workers in both protective and non-protective service occupations.

Office and clerical - See "Occupational Categories."

Officials and Managers - See "Occupational Categories."

Operatives (semiskilled) - See "Occupational Categories."

Participation Rate - The extent to which members of a specific demographic group participate in an agency's work force.

Permanent Work Force - Full-time, part-time and intermittent employees of a particular agency. For purposes of this Report, those persons employed as of September 30, 2003.

Professionals - See "Occupational Categories."

Race/Ethnicity -

White (Not of Hispanic Origin) - All persons having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, North Africa, or the Middle East.

Black (Not of Hispanic Origin) - All persons having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.

Hispanic - All persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central or South American, or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.

Asian/Pacific Islander - All persons having origins in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, the Indian subcontinent, or the Pacific Islands. This area includes, for example, China, Japan, Korea, the Philippine Islands and Samoa.

American Indian/Alaskan Native - All persons having origins in any of the original peoples of North America, and who maintain cultural identification through tribal affiliation or community recognition.

Reportable Disability - Any self-identified disability reported by an employee to the employing agency.

Sales Workers - See "Occupational Categories."

Senior Pay Level - Civil Service positions above GS 15.

Service workers - See "Occupational Categories."

Targeted Disabilities - Those disabilities that the federal government, as a matter of policy, has identified for special emphasis. The targeted disabilities (and the codes that represent them on the Office of Personnel Management's Standard Form 256) are: deafness (16 and 17); blindness (23 and 25); missing extremities (28 and 32 through 38); partial paralysis (64 through 68); complete paralysis (71 through 78); convulsive disorders (82); mental retardation (90); mental illness (91); and distortion of limb and/or spine (92)."

Technicians - See "Occupational Categories."

Total Work Force - All employees of an agency subject to 29 C.F.R. Part 1614 regulations, including temporary, seasonal and permanent employees.

White Collar Employees - Those workers in grade levels GS 1 through GS 15 and the Senior Pay Level. This category does not include Blue Collar (Wage Grade) workers.

This page was last modified on May 14, 2004.

Home Return to Home Page