Breadcrumb

  1. Home
  2. Student Externships Chicago District Office

Student Externships Chicago District Office

Alternative Dispute Resolution:

For the Chicago District Office, interested students should e-mail or send a letter of interest and resume to Julie Bretz, ADR Coordinator, at EEOC, 230 S. Dearborn St., Suite 1866, Chicago, IL, 60604 or julie.bretz@eeoc.gov .

For the Milwaukee Area Office, interested students should e-mail or send a letter of interest and resume to Julie Bretz at EEOC, 310 W. Wisconsin Ave., Suite 500, Milwaukee, WI 53203, or julie.bretz@eeoc.gov

For the Minneapolis Area Office, interested students should e-mail or send a letter of interest and resume to Ruby Jones at EEOC, 330 South Second Avenue, Suite 720, Minneapolis, MN 55401 or ruby.jones@eeoc.gov .

Enforcement:

For the Chicago District Office, interested students should e-mail or send a letter of interest, resume, transcript, and brief writing sample to Ernestine Harris at EEOC, 230 S. Dearborn St., Suite 1866, Chicago, IL, 60604 or ernestine.harris@eeoc.gov .

For the Milwaukee Area Office, mail or email a cover letter, resume and transcript to Aurora Cheong at EEOC, 310 W. Wisconsin Ave., Suite 500, Milwaukee, WI 53203, or aurora.cheong@eeoc.gov .

For the Minneapolis Area Office, mail or e-mail a cover letter, resume and transcript to Petrona Melgarejo at EEOC, 330 South Second Avenue, Suite 720, Minneapolis, MN 55401 or petrona.melgarejo@eeoc.gov .

Legal:

Positions Available: Summer, semester, or quarter externships for currently enrolled undergraduate, graduate, and law students with the Legal Unit of the Chicago District Office (“CDO”) of the EEOC.

What to Expect: The EEOC is the agency of the United States of America charged with the administration, interpretation and enforcement of Title VII which prohibits employment discrimination based on race, religion, sex or national origin; the Equal Pay Act of 1963 which requires that men and women performing the same work be given equal wages; the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, which prohibits discrimination against workers over the age of 40; and Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act, which prohibits employment discrimination on the basis of disability. The Chicago District Office of the EEOC is responsible for enforcing these laws in several ​Midwestern states. Chicago’s Legal Unit has unpaid positions available for 1-2 graduate student externs and typically also has between 4 to 6 law and undergraduate students working in the office. The actual number of interns hired will depend on litigation needs. Externships are divided into two types of activities: substantive assistance to lawyers, and opportunities to observe depositions, court hearings and other EEOC activities. Substantive work might include: abstracting depositions and other documents and developing case data bases, interviewing witnesses and claimants, researching companies we are suing, and answering discovery requests and summarizing case law. Less frequently, we sometimes have data for which we need assistance with preliminary statistical analysis.

Requirements: Summer externs are asked for a total of 400 hours during the summer. During the school year students are asked to commit to a minimum of 150 hours during the course of a semester. Candidates will be evaluated based on academic performance, demonstrated writing skills, and interest in furthering the mission of the agency. B+ average or above preferred.

To Apply: Applications for summer externships should generally be made no later than February 15 of each year, fall applications should be submitted no later than May 15, and winter/spring applications should be submitted no later than November 1​ and applications will be considered on a rolling basis. Please note in the email subject line which type of internship (summer, semester, etc.) for which you are applying. Because unexpected openings sometimes occur, students may apply after these dates; however, you will only receive a reply if there is a current opening. To apply, email a cover letter, resume, and transcript, preferably in a single PDF, to Ethan Cohen at CDOLegalInternshipCommittee@eeoc.gov and/or ethan.cohen@eeoc.gov.

The Chicago District Office encourages summer applicants to apply through the Midwest Public Interest Career Conference (see, http://mpilcc.uchicago.edu/ for details) or contact Ethan Cohen directly as shown above.

For the Milwaukee Area Office, mail or email a cover letter, resume and transcript to Leslie Carter at EEOC, 310 W. Wisconsin Ave., Suite 500, Milwaukee, WI 53203, or leslie.carter@eeoc.gov.  or Carrie Vance carrie.vance@eeoc.gov  Applications for summer Internships in Milwaukee should be made no later than May 1st.

For the Minneapolis Area Office, mail or e-mail a cover letter, resume and transcript to Tina Burnside at EEOC, 330 South Second Avenue, Suite 720, Minneapolis, MN 55401 or tina.burnside@eeoc.gov) will  Applications for summer Internships in Minneapolis should be made no later than May 1st.

For more information, go to the EEOC Chicago District Office.