Skip to Content

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

EEOC Today

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission is led by five Commissioners and a General Counsel appointed by the President of the United States and confirmed by the Senate. Commissioners are appointed for five-year staggered terms. The General Counsel's term is four years. The President designates a Chair and a Vice Chair. The Chair is the chief executive officer of the Commission. The Commissioners have the authority to establish equal employment opportunity policy and to approve litigation. The General Counsel is responsible for conducting litigation under the laws enforced by the Commission.

Picture of Victoria A. Lipnic

Victoria A. Lipnic, Acting Chair

Picture of Charlotte A. Burrows

Charlotte A. Burrows, Commissioner

Commissioner - vacant

Commissioner - vacant

Commissioner - vacant

General Counsel - vacant