Breadcrumb

  1. Inicio
  2. oficina campo
  3. Oficina de Distrito de Atlanta
  4. Puntualidad

Anuncio

Tenga en cuenta que debido a la situación actual de salud, las oficinas de campo de EEOC han dejado de realizar entrevistas de admisión en persona temporalmente. Si previamente programó una cita de admisión en persona, su cita se cambiará a una entrevista telefónica. La oficina no aceptará visitas sin cita en este momento.
 

Le recomendamos que visite el Portal Público de EEOC (https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/) para programar una cita de admisión por teléfono. También se puede acceder al sistema yendo directamente a nuestro sitio web en https://www.eeoc.gov/.
 

Si está cerca de la fecha límite de presentación (al menos 180 días pero generalmente 300 días), llame al 1-800-669-4000.
 

Para las personas sordas y con problemas de audición, puede comunicarse con EEOC por videoteléfono al 1-844-234-5122. Si tiene una discapacidad que le impide acceder al Portal Público o tiene dificultades para acceder al portal, llame al 1-800-669-4000.

 

Puntualidad

Un cargo debe ser presentado ante La EEOC dentro de los 180 días de la fecha de la supuesta violación, a fin de proteger los derechos de la parte demandante.

Este plazo de 180 días para la presentación puede extenderse a 300 días si la querella también está cubierto por una ley estatal o local contra la discriminación.

Estos límites de tiempo no se aplican a quejas conforme a la Ley de Remuneración Equitativa, ya que conforme a esa Ley las personas no necesitan presentar primero una querella ante La EEOC para poder tener el derecho de acudir a los tribunales. Sin embargo, dado que muchas de las quejas relacionadas con la EPA suscitan temas de discriminación por sexo del Título VII, puede ser aconsejable presentar cargos conforme a ambas leyes dentro de los límites de tiempo indicados.

A charge must be filed with EEOC within 180 days from the date of the alleged violation, in order to protect the charging party's rights.

This 180-day filing deadline may be extended to 300 days if the charge also is covered by a state or local anti-discrimination law.

These time limits do not apply to claims under the Equal Pay Act, because under that Act persons do not have to first file a charge with EEOC in order to have the right to go to court. However, since many EPA claims also raise Title VII sex discrimination issues, it may be advisable to file charges under both laws within the time limits indicated.

Atlanta District Office Information

In the State of Georgia, an individual has 180 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge with this office against an employer with 15 or more employees for discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, religion, and/or disability. An individual has 180 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge with this office against an employer with 20 or more employees for discrimination based on age.

A State of Georgia government employee or an applicant for employment with the State of Georgia has 300 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge with the EEOC for discrimination based on race, color, sex, national origin, religion, age and/or disability.

In the State of South Carolina, an individual has 300 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge with this office against an employer with 15 or more employees for discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, religion, and/or disability. An individual has 300 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge with this office against an employer with 20 or more employees for discrimination based on age.

To protect your legal rights, it is always best to contact EEOC promptly when discrimination is suspected.