The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE         Media Contacts:  David Grinberg
October 12, 2005                               (202) 663-4921

                              Program Contact: Jay Friedman
                                               (202) 419-0577
                                          TTY: (202) 663-7124



Honoring Best Practices that Promote Fair and Open Competition in the Workplace

WASHINGTON - Cari M. Dominguez, Chair of the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), today launched the EEOC's second annual "Freedom to Compete Award", announcing that the agency will accept nominations through Jan. 18, 2006.  The Chair will present the distinguished award in June to employers, organizations, or other entities that have demonstrated results through best practices in promoting fair and open competition in the workplace. 

The award is part of the EEOC's Freedom to Compete Initiative, a national outreach, education and coalition-building campaign to provide free and unfettered access to employment opportunities for all individuals.  The central theme of the initiative, launched by Chair Dominguez in 2002, is that every individual deserves the opportunity to compete and advance on a level playing field as far as his/her talent and ability allows without regard to discriminatory barriers.  As part of the Freedom to Compete campaign, the EEOC has been forging strategic alliances and partnerships with a cross-section of stakeholders to influence positive change in the workplace.

 "The Freedom to Compete Award is about showcasing, recognizing, and rewarding a specific practice that produces results; a practice that sets an example and reflects abiding commitment to access and inclusion in the workplace," Chair Dominguez said.  "We were impressed with the high-impact practices featured in the 2005 awards program, and look forward to receiving a new round of nominations for 2006."

The six award recipients in 2005 covered a range of industries and professions including high-tech, manufacturing, insurance, retail/distribution, law, and public service.  Nominations for the 2006 awards may be made by the public or an entity may nominate itself.  Eligibility criteria for nominees include:

The nomination submission requires an application containing the following information:

Further information about the nomination submission criteria, procedures, and previous award winners is available on the Commission's web site at  Nomination packages must be received by EEOC no later than January 18, 2006, and may be sent by e-mail to, standard mail, or otherwise delivered to Jay Friedman, EEOC, Office of Research, Information and Planning, 1801 L Street, N.W., Washington, D.C.  20507.   

This page was last modified on October 12, 2005.

Return to Home Page