1. Home
  2. Federal Sector
  3. How Other Federal Agencies Address Civil Rights Issues

How Other Federal Agencies Address Civil Rights Issues

Approximately 30 Federal departments and agencies provide Federal financial assistance. These agencies are responsible for ensuring that recipients of Federal financial assistance comply with the following laws:

EEOC regulations at 29 C.F.R. Part 1640 (issued jointly with the Department of Justice, 28 C.F.R. Part 37) address how EEOC will handle charges/complaints of disability discrimination that also may be covered under Section 504; 29 C.F.R. Part 1691 (also issued jointly with Justice, 28 C.F.R. Part 42) addresses Titles VI and IX. In addition, EEOC Management Directive 1002 addresses coordination of complaints/charges against recipients of Federal financial assistance. DOJ's Coordination and Review Section, Civil Rights Division, works with EEOC to coordinate enforcement of these laws.

Employers that are Federal government contractors or subcontractors also may be covered by Executive Order 11246, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, and sex, and section 503 of the Rehabilitation Act, which prohibits disability discrimination. The Department of Labor, Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs, administers and enforces these workplace prohibitions.

OPM and the EEOC evaluate and recommend improvement in an agency's EEO program as well as provide feedback on the effectiveness of an agency's compliance with various employment plans. OPM is responsible for an annual FEORP report and an Executive Order No. 13171 Report.

Discrimination Not Involving Employment

The Department of Justice, Coordination and Review Section (CORS) coordinates the implementation and enforcement by Executive agencies of other nondiscrimination provisions of: Title VI, Title IX, and Section 504 not involving employment. These provisions may cover discriminatory practices resulting in any difference in quality, quantity, or manner in which a service is provided, or different standards or requirements for participation or entry in a program.

Other Federal Statutes

Some agencies also administer other federal statutes or authorities which contain provisions requiring equal employment opportunity in their external programs. One such example is the Workforce Investment Act of 1998 which was enacted to consolidate, coordinate, and improve employment, training, literacy, and vocational rehabilitation programs in the United States. It is enforced by the Department of Labor.