1. Home
  2. Newsroom
Press Release


The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission


WASHINGTON – The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) will extend the application deadline for this year’s Freedom to Compete Award to Feb. 13, 2007. Chair Naomi C. Earp will present the third annual award in June 2007 to employers, organizations, or other entities that have demonstrated results through best practices in promoting fair and open competition in the workplace.

The award is part of the EEOC’s Freedom to Compete Initiative, a national outreach, education and coalition-building campaign to provide free access to employment opportunities for all individuals. The central theme of the initiative, launched in 2002, is that every individual deserves the opportunity to compete and advance on a level playing field as far as his/her talent and ability allows without regard to discriminatory barriers. As part of the Freedom to Compete campaign, the EEOC has forged strategic alliances and partnerships with a cross-section of stakeholders to influence positive change in the workplace.

The seven award recipients in 2006 covered a range of industries and professions including high-tech, food service, engineering, public service, and health care. Nominations for the 2007 awards may be made by the public or an entity may nominate itself. Eligibility criteria for nominees include:

  • The nominee must be a public or private employer, corporation, association, organization or other entity whose activities exemplify Freedom to Compete goals.
  • Nominees must have implemented a specific practice that has removed barriers that hinder free and fair workplace competition and has increased access, inclusion, and/or promotional opportunities for qualified workers.
  • Recipients of the Freedom to Compete Award must agree to participate in programs, meetings, or other collaborative efforts with the Commission to publicize the award-winning practice and share information to assist other entities seeking to replicate the practice. Recipients’ Chief Executive Officers are expected to participate in the award ceremony, tentatively scheduled for June 13 at the EEOC’s Washington headquarters.

The nomination submission requires an application containing the following information:

  • Profile of the organization, including its mission, size, number of employees, nature of work, and description of products or services;
  • Description of the specific practice, including what led to its implementation, the level of executive commitment and involvement, and tangible results;
  • Description of what made the practice effective and how it has positively affected the lives of employees; and
  • Description of potential joint activities the organization and EEOC can undertake to share the practice with other entities and promote Freedom to Compete principles.
Further information about the nomination submission criteria, procedures, and previous award winners is available on the Commission’s web site at Nomination packages must be received by EEOC no later than Feb. 13, and may be sent by e-mail to, standard mail, or otherwise delivered to Jay Friedman, EEOC, Office of Research, Information and Planning, 1801 L Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20507.

This page was last modified on November 28, 2006.