Notice

Please be advised that due to the current health situation, EEOC's Field Offices have temporarily stopped conducting in-person intake interviews. If you have previously scheduled in-person intake appointment, your appointment will be changed to a telephone interview. The office will not accept walk-ins at this time.

You are encouraged to visit the EEOC Public Portal (https://publicportal.eeoc.gov/) to schedule an intake appointment by telephone. The system can also be accessed by going directly to our website at https://www.eeoc.gov/.
 

If you are near a filing deadline (at least 180 days but generally 300 days) please call 1-800-669-4000.
 

For individuals who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing, you can reach EEOC by videophone at 1-844-234-5122. If you have a disability which prevents you from accessing the Public Portal or you otherwise have difficulty with accessing the portal, please call 1-800-669-4000.

 

Timeliness

A charge must be filed with EEOC within 180 days from the date of the alleged violation, in order to protect the charging party's rights.
This 180-day filing deadline may be extended to 300 days if the charge also is covered by a state or local anti-discrimination law.
These time limits do not apply to claims under the Equal Pay Act, because under that Act persons do not have to first file a charge with EEOC in order to have the right to go to court. However, since many EPA claims also raise Title VII sex discrimination issues, it may be advisable to file charges under both laws within the time limits indicated.

Boston Area Office Information

An individual has 300 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge with this office against an employer within 15 or more employees for discrimination based on race, color, national origin, sex, religion, and/or disability in the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. An individual has 300 days from the date of alleged harm to file a charge with this office against an employer within 20 or more employees for discrimination based on age in the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont.

Charges against employers with than less 15 employees (for race, color, national origin, sex, religion, and/or disability) or less than 20 employees (for age) must be filed with the appropriate state or local agency within the time limits prescribed by the state or local laws. These time limits are 365 days in the states of Rhode Island and Vermont; and 180 days in the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts and New Hampshire.

To protect your legal rights, it is always best to contact EEOC promptly when discrimination is suspected.