1. Home
  2. EEOC Field Offices
  3. Indianapolis District Office
  4. Jurisdictional Area


Please be advised that due to the current health situation, EEOC's Field Offices have temporarily stopped conducting in-person intake interviews. If you have previously scheduled in-person intake appointment, your appointment will be changed to a telephone interview. The office will not accept walk-ins at this time.

You are encouraged to visit the EEOC Public Portal ( to schedule an intake appointment by telephone. The system can also be accessed by going directly to our website at

If you are near a filing deadline (at least 180 days but generally 300 days) please call 1-800-669-4000.

For individuals who are Deaf and Hard of Hearing, you can reach EEOC by videophone at 1-844-234-5122. If you have a disability which prevents you from accessing the Public Portal or you otherwise have difficulty with accessing the portal, please call 1-800-669-4000.


Jurisdictional Area

The jurisdictional area represents the state, county or city in which an alleged incident of employment discrimination took place.

The Indianapolis District Office has jurisdiction over the States of Indiana, Kentucky, and Michigan; and the State of Ohio Counties of Adams, Allen, Auglaize, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Darke, Defiance, Fayette, Fulton, Gallia, Greene, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Logan, Lucas, Madison, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Ottawa, Paulding, Pickaway, Pike, Preble, Putnam, Ross, Sandusky, Scioto, Seneca, Shelby, Union, Van Wert, Warren, Williams, Wood, and Wyandot.

Cincinnati Area Office

Cincinnati Area Office - The State of Ohio counties of Adams, Auglaize, Brown, Butler, Champaign, Clark, Clermont, Clinton, Darke, Fayette, Gallia, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Highland, Jackson, Lawrence, Logan, Madison, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Pickaway, Pike, Preble, Ross, Scioto, Shelby, Union, and Warren; and the State of Kentucky counties of Bath, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Bracken, Breathitt, Campbell, Carter, Elliott, Fleming, Floyd, Gallatin, Grant, Greenup, Harrison, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Lawrence, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Robertson, Rowan, and Wolfe.

Detroit Field Office

The Detroit Field Office has jurisdiction over the State of Michigan and the State of Ohio Counties of Allen, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Wood, and Wyandot.

Louisville Area Office

Louisville Area Office - The State of Kentucky counties of Adair, Allen, Anderson, Ballard, Barren, Bell, Boyle, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Carroll, Casey, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Garrard, Graves, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Harlan, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jefferson, Jessamine, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Madison, Marion, Marshall, McCracken, McCreary, McLean, Meade, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Scott, Shelby, Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, and Woodford.